Talking Points: Spin Woes and The Case of KL Rahul

With the ODI series done and dusted, the focus moves on to the T20I series. The series will start from 26th January at Kanpur. India last played a T20I series  in August against the Windies which they lost 0-1. The batsmen showcased a superficial range of unconventional shots. It looked a strong batting department which has only got stronger with the addition of batsmen like Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina. Still there are some points to ponder over before India gets on with the series.

 No Ashwin and Jadeja:

There haven’t been  a lot many occasions when neither of the two best spinners of the country are rested for the series. With Ravindra Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin out of the series, the main focus shifts to the veteran leg-spinner Amit Mishra. His overall T20 records showcases that he can be trusted with the responsibility to lead the inexperienced Indian spin attack. Mishra has played 8 T20I’s picking up 14 wickets at an average of 13.71 conceding 6.40 runs per over. The other spinner which the selectors have put their onus upon is Parvez Rasool. Handy down the order with bat, he has proved again and again that he is ready for the international stage with consistently good performances in the domestic circuit.

 Opening Woes Continue:

With India’s ace opener Rohit Sharma injured the opening woes for India’s don’t seem to end. India tried three of their best openers in the ODI series against England all failing to stay at the crease even for the first 10 overs. The selectors will keep an  keen eye on Lokesh Rahul as their second opener beside Rohit for the ICC Champions Trophy in England later this year. Mandeep Singh and Rishabh Pant have also been included in the team as opening batsmen both of whom have proved their mantle in IPL.  It’s no doubt that KL Rahul will make the final eleven, but it’s still in doubt as to who will open besides him.

It remains to be seen who star in the final eleven in the first T20 on 26th January. But India does have lots of grounds to cover before they take the field in Kanpur.

India’s T20I Squad: Virat Kohli(C), Lokesh Rahul, Mandeep Singh, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

Read more posts at


2 thoughts on “Talking Points: Spin Woes and The Case of KL Rahul

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: