Virat, Ashwin To Be Awarded with Polly Umrigar & Dilip Serdesai Awards, Ashwin First To Win Dilip Award Twice

The Indian Skipper Virat Kohli, who has been on top of his form in the recent past, will be awarded with the special Polly Umrigar Award. Whereas, the Indian off-spinner/all- rounder Ravichandran Ashwin, who has been fantastic with his spin bowling and batting, will be honoured with the Dilip Sardesai Award at the BCCI’s annual awards to be held on March 8, 2017 in Bengaluru.

Virat Kohli Awarded With Polly Umrigar Award
Virat Kohli Awarded With Polly Umrigar Award

Read Here: Pune Pitch Rated Poor by ICC

Virat has already received the honour twice, in 2011-12 and 2014-15. This is for the third time that this talented batsman is receiving this award, thanks to his brilliant form in all the formats of the game. Virat has scored 4 double hundreds in last 4 test series. Virat will now become the first Indian Batsman ever to receive this award for the third time.

Read Here: India vs Australia- Talking Points
Ashwin is also receiving the award second time. He had already received Dilip Sardesai Award in 2011. He will now become the first Indian Cricketer to receive the honour twice. Ashwin’s brilliant spin bowling as well as his role as a batsman in the lower order has been the main reason for India’s victory in the last 3 series against New-Zealand, England and Bangladesh. Down the order, Ashwin role’s as a batsman has benefited India in reaching massive totals and sometimes also saved India from making a low score.

A very good news for all the Kohli and Ashwin fans out there!!

A Big Moment For All Fans
A Big Moment For All Fans

Other Awards

  • Lala Amarnath Award for the best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy- Jalaj Saxena
Jalaj Saxena
Jalaj Saxena
  • Madhavrao Scindra Award- Shreyas Uyer
Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer
  • Best Umpire in Domestic Cricket- Nitin Menon
Nitin Menon (Left)
Nitin Menon (Left)

For Latest Sports Feeds & Articles Follow Us At

Like & Reach Our Official Facebook Page At


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s