India Announce Squad for ODI’s against New Zealand

India take on New Zealand in a shortened three-match ODI series followed by a three-match T20 Series, next week. The Indian selectors met today and announced the 15-man squad for the ODI series.

The Indian opening batsman, Shikhar Dhawan, who missed the ODI series vs the Australians due to wife’s illness, returns to the ODI squad after a decent performance in the T20s.

Most notable addition to the batting order is the wicket-keeper batsman, Dinesh Karthik. Notably, Dinesh last played a match for India back in July when the national team toured the Carribeans.

Also, speedster Shardul Thakur makes a comeback to the Indian team after missing out in the Australian series.

Indian team’s lead spinners – Ravindra Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin, have not played a limited overs game for India in a long time, and fans may have to wait longer, to see them on the pitch. The selectors have gone with the spin trio of Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, all of whom impressed one and all with their match-winning performances against the Aussies.

India are scheduled to play three ODIs and three T20Is against the visiting New Zealand team.

The first ODI will be played on October 22 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.


Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shardul Thakur.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s