Australia’s Shocking Squad Selection

In a shocking press release on Friday, Australian Cricket Board announced the 13-man squad for the first two test matches of the Ashes Series beginning on Nov 23 at the Gabba, Brisbane.

The squad list came as a shock to the public as it contained some unexpected names and various players making their way back in the team despite the good performances of the young players who have been left out. With this, the ACB has clearly shown interest in experience rather than quality for the series.

The selection caused a massive uproar in the media with many veterans coming out and lashing at the board.

Tim Paine, 34, has been shown a way back into the squad after seven years despite the presence of Matthew Wade and Peter Neville who have been regulars in the squad.

Shaun Marsh makes his comeback into the squad in place of Glenn Maxwell and Hilton Cartwright.

Bancroft who scored a load of runs in the Sheffield Shield is in line to make his debut in place of Matt Renshaw.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Jackson Bird, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: