Sri Lanka to host India and Bangladesh in T20I Tri-Series

Sri Lanka Cricket Board has released a statement announcing the Nidahas Trophy to be played between March 8 to 20 in 2018.

Sri Lanka would be celebrating their 70th Independence Anniversary next year and would host India and Bangladesh in a three-ways T20I series.

Each team would play the other twice before the top two teams playing in the finals. As this also marks the 70th Anniversary of the R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, it would host all the matches.

The Nidahas trophy was first played back in 1998 marking the 50th Independence anniversary of Sri Lanka. New Zealand and India were the visiting nations back then and India had won that series.

“We are privileged to be a part of Sri Lanka’s 70th year celebrations, there is no closer friend to the BCCI than Sri Lanka [and Bangladesh] and when Mr. Sumathipala first floated this invitation, there was almost instant agreement that the Indian Team would participate for this reason,” BCCI CEO Rahul Johri said.