Sri Lanka ODI Team Recalled from Airport

Nine Sri Lankan players were ordered to return from Colombo airport when they were on the way for the overnight flight to India. They were going to take part in the bilateral ODI series against India. Sri Lanka will play a three-match series against India starting from December 10.

Sri Lankan Sports minister Dayasiri Jayasekera stopped nine players leaving for India because he was unhappy with the team choice.

Dayasiri said that the players are leaving for India without his permission. According to a sports law of Sri Lanka, every Sri Lankan player should get a permission from the sports minister to play any series.

Dayasiri said that the selected player list should be given to him before 3-4 weeks but it was given to him just four or five hours before the players were leaving for India.

The nine players were led by the captain Thisara Perara who was named last week. The eight players were Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana , Dushmantha Chameera , Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep.
According to the sources, there can be a couple of changes before the next team leaves for India as a 1973 law gives Sports minister the power to change the national team before they compete.

Sri Lankan ODI Squad

Thisara Perara(C), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.