Ballon d’Or 2017: When, Where & Shortlist

As we approach the year-end, it’s time for the most prestigious Ballon d’Or 2017. This award should not be mistaken with FIFA’s ‘The Best’ awards. Between 2010 to 2015, the award featured under a FIFA banner but the new FIFA president Giani Infantino decided to scrape away this award and restore the pre – 2010 format where FIFA’s World’s Best Player and the Ballon d’Or were different entities.

When & Where

The event will kick off at 12:15 AM IST in Paris where it will be held. Although, the arrival of stars at the event, i.e, the Red Carpet would begin a couple of hours before.

France daily L’ Equipe’s TV channel will cover the event as of now.

The host for the event is Tottenham Hotspur’s legend and former Newcastle United winger David Ginola.


The winner for The Ballon d’Or will be decided upon the votes by 173 journalists across the globe unlike FIFA’s The Best Football awards where the major decision relied upon the votes by the National Captains and Coaches.

The Shortlist

  1. Neymar – Paris St. Germain
  2. N’Golo Kante – Chelsea
  3. Luka Modric – Real Madrid
  4. Paulo Dybala – Juventus
  5. Marcelo – Real Madrid
  6. Edin Dzeko – Roma
  7. Harry Kane – Tottenham
  8. David De Gea – Manchester United
  9. Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City
  10. Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich
  11. Karim Benzema – Real Madrid
  12. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Borussia Dortmund
  13. Edison Cavani – Paris St. Germain
  14. Philippe Coutinho – Liverpool
  15. Luis Suarez – FC Barcelona
  16. Jan Oblak – Atletico Madrid
  17. Sergio Ramos – Real Madrid
  18. Dries Mertens – Napoli
  19. Radamel Falcao – Monaco
  20. Sadio Mane – Liverpool
  21. Gianluigi Buffon – Juventus
  22. Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid
  23. Toni Kroos – Real Madrid
  24. Cristiano Ronaldo – Real Madrid
  25. Leonardo Bonucci – AC Milan
  26. Eden Hazard – Chelsea
  27. Isco – Real Madrid
  28. Lionel Messi – FC Barcelona
  29. Mats Hummels – Bayern Munich
  30. Kylian Mbappe – Paris St. Germain

You can check our verdict for the Ballon d’Or here ->>