Records Ready to be Broken in the First T20I

After a satisfactory performance in the ODI series, the Men in Blue will now be looking to seal the T-20 series against the Lankans. The first T-20 scheduled to play at Baravati Stadium, Cuttack. India has won the ODI series against Sri Lanka by 2-1 and will be looking for maintaining the record of no series loss against the Lankans. Once again in the absence of regular skipper, Vice-captain Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian side.
Indian players can set some individual records in the first T-20. Let’s have a look on them:

-Rohit has to score 15-runs to become the second Indian batsman to cross 1500 T-20 runs after Virat Kohli.
-Chahal has to take 3-wicket to become the leading wicket-taker in T-20s held in 2017.
-Dhoni has to take 5 catches to become the first wicketkeeper to take 50 T-20 catches.

Team News


Indian squad is filled with a lot of youngsters along with the former captain MS Dhoni. Rohit Sharma is expected to open the inning along with KL Rahul, who has a lot of things to prove in this series to cement his place in the national team. After shown stunning performances in the ODI series, Shreyas Iyer will definitely takes the place at no. 3 in the batting order. The middle order will be taken care by former captain and mighty wicket-keeper MS Dhoni. Dinesh Kartik is certainly going to find the no. 4 spot as he has performed well in the ODI series. The competition will be tough between Manish Pandey and Deepak Hooda. But being an all-rounder, Hooda can be prioritized over Pandey who does not seem in a good form.

Hardik Pandya didn’t get much batting chances in ODI, but he is quite handy with the ball. He can have a big role to play in this match. When take about bowling, the spin department will be held by Chahal and Kuldeep ho have performed well in the ODIs. The pace attack will be led by the new death specialist Jasprit Bumrah. Either one among Unadakat/Siraj/Basil will get place in the XI.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan batting order will held by Upul Tharanga who has performed well in the ODIs. He will open Sri Lankan batting with the wicket-keeper batsman Niroshan Dickwella. In middle order, the main focus will be on the former captain Angelo Matthews who has been a great inspiration for Sri Lankan batting as well as bowling. The other players who will strengthen Sri Lankan Batting order are the hard-hitter Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunatilaka, Asela Gunaratne and skipper Thisara Perera.

As Suranga Lakmal has given rest for this series, the fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep will lead the Sir Lankan bowling attack. Dushmanta Chameera and Vishwa Fernando are the other pacers in the squad. Dasun Shanaka and Sri Lanka’s new spin expert Akila Dananjaya will handle the spin department. Akila has a key role to play in this series as he has troubled Indian batsmen in the previous series.


Categories: Cricket, India, Sri Lanka

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s