Steyn, Du Plessis Set To Return For First Test Against India

The South African team for the first test at Cape Town starting on 5th January has been announced.

The Proteas have looked to go with their total strength against the No. 1 Ranked test team – India.

Dale Steyn is all ready to play the test after he missed the Boxing Day test due to fever. The squad marks a fiery and fearsome pack of fast bowlers with the likes of Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada included alongside Dale Steyn. Chris Morris is also selected as a fast-bowling all-round option.

Faf du Plessis is also set to play after he missed out on the Boxing day test being down due to a viral infection. Faf will be taking back the captaincy duties back from ABD. 

Quinton de Cock is the only wicket-keeper in the squad. 

Keshav Maharaj is the only front-line spinner in the squad.

South Africa squad for Cape Town Test

: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: