Ashwin to captain KXIP in 2018

Kings XI Punjab named Ravichandran Ashwin as their new captain for the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League on Monday. Virender Sehwag, director of cricket operations has revealed the name of the new skipper in a Facebook live session on KXIP’s Facebook page.

R Ashwin will be the tenth cricketer to lead the franchise after Glenn Maxwell (2017), Murali Vijay (2016), David Miller (2016), George Bailey (2014, 015), David Hussey (2012, 2013), Adam Gilchrist (2011, 2012), Mahela Jayawardene (2010), Kumar Sangakkara (2009) and Yuvraj Singh (2008) have led the franchise in the past.

“There is no additional pressure on me as such. I first led my stateside in first-class cricket when I was 21. I have done it in the past and I am sure that I will enjoy the challenge,” Ashwin said.

“I feel honored to be trusted with the responsibility of leading such a talented bunch of cricketers,” Ashwin told the team website. “I am confident of bringing out the best out of teammates. This is indeed a proud moment for me.”

Ashwin has played more than 100 games in the IPL, playing his first seven seasons for Chennai Super Kings and one for Rising Pune Supergiants. He missed the last season with an injury.

Having made his debut in the 2009 season, Ashwin went on to become a crucial part of the CSK team, helping them win back-to-back titles in 2010 and 2011 and reach the final on three other occasions. He has a total of 100 wickets in 111 games, at an average of 25 and an economy of 6.55.